Deep Water Aerobics!

DSCN4476
The summer before I got married I did water aerobics at my towns’ rec center. After marrying and moving 1200 km, I mentioned to my husband that I missed this form of exercise. He excitedly told me, “I have water aerobics for you! You pick up a 40 foot pipe off the irrigation line, walk 60 feet, hook it up to the new line, then keep doing it until the line is moved.” Although this wasn’t quite what I was looking for in water areobics, I had a hard time arguing that it didn’t have something to do with water and aerobic activity! It was very different from jumping around in a pool listening to music, but it was still extremely good exercise!

We coined the phrase ‘deep’ water areobics because as the crop grows taller the intensity goes up! As you can see by the picture the crop is now 4 1/2 feet tall. Instead of just lifting the pipe up to my waist, I have to lift it up to my shoulders so that I can carry it through. It’s strength and resistance training all in one!

Too bad we couldn’t be like an exercise class and charge people to come and move our pipes for us!!
~Erika Fossen~

Leave a Reply

