Silaging

To go along with my last blog post ‘Pulled Out of Semi-Retirement’, here is a video of picking up a load of the Oats/Pea/Barley/Triticale silage crop.

(Should have cleaned the truck window so the view was clearer!)
The tractor pulls and powers the silage chopper, which chops the crop and blows it into the HighDump wagon. The HighDump wagon then dumps it into my truck and I truck it back to our ranch and dump it at the silage pit. That is where another tractor pushes the load onto the piles that are already unloaded and the tractor ‘packs’ it or drives over the feed, over and over, in order to remove the oxygen. Then when the pile is covered in plastic and old tires (for weight), the feed is preserved.
I’m thankful that I feel comfortable driving big equipment, probably because I started young. I started driving a truck like this when I was 15 on my childhood grain farm. Between high school and college I worked for a farm equipment dealership and drove large equipment, combines and large 4×4 tractors, from the dealership out to the farms. They are good memories and they all prepared me for my job now.
~Erika Fossen~

7 thoughts on “Silaging

  1. Will says:

    Good one Erica. Especially knowing you had to pay attention to not wiping out your mirror plus lining up the truck box with the highdump, PLUS keep the camera focused, lol. Nice artistic touch with the ‘in the mirror’ shot too. I can just imagine Hubby grumblin’ on the CB ‘watch what yer doin’!” πŸ™‚

    • 2erikas says:

      Yes you are so correct on all accounts!! You sound like you have been in this situation before! Glad it gave you some enjoyment πŸ™‚

      • Will says:

        Yeah, farm/ranch life, long-haul Trucking, Farrier, (still shoein’), but I started back when everyrhing was horse drawn & pitch forks – dump rakes, stooking, threshing. πŸ™‚ Keep up the great posts, BOTH of You, your efforts are VERY appreciated. Will

  2. Joanne says:

    Hi Erica(s),
    Could I contact you (or you me) personally as I have a project I’m working on to ask you about. Thanks.

  3. Renee says:

    Great post Erika. Thanks again for letting us stay at your place during your silage cutting last summer. Our boys still talk about the fun visits we have with your family. And I get grumbled at as well for taking photos while running tractors, combines, farm trucks and working cattle!

Leave a Reply

