A Little Relief From Cabin Fever

It has been quite the transition going from full time ranch hand to full time mom! The ratio to time outside and time in the house has flipped and has been a really hard transition. Don’t get me wrong I love my little girl and love my new role as mom, however I also love being outside and being active. We definitely get outside as much as we can, but I was really itching to do some hard work and be physically tired when you go to bed.
On Tuesday Dad came up with a perfect solution for me! We got a phone call from another ranch that has range near ours and they had found a cow and her calf that my husband and I bought on their range. It doesn’t make sense that just one cow was there, so dad went scouting for more cows that possibly had wondered way far away from where they were suppose to be, from our range. He was right and found 11 animals, 5 cow calf pairs and 1 yearling heifer, still on the other ranch’s range. Where dad found these animals there is no way we could get a horse up there. It was really thick bush and some cut blocks, so where loggers have logged, so there is a mess of branches covering the ground and really steep, so dad wanted us to walk down to see if we could ideally move the cows down off this mountain back onto our range and to see if we could find the trail where these cows are getting onto this other range.
Well we weren’t able to bring the cows down with us, we lost them in the bush, but we hiked down the mountain for 2 hours until we reached the bottom trying to figure out how these cows wound up where they did. To finish off our “hike” we got to cross the river at the end. My husband was so great he took our daughter and dropped us off at the top of the mountain and my dad, mom and I walked down and my husband Cyle picked us up at the bottom.

Cyle and Macy waiting for us at the bottom!

Cyle and Macy waiting for us at the bottom!

IMG_2526

Mom trying to find a place to cross.

Mom trying to find a place to cross.

Dad crossing the river.

Dad crossing the river.

We found our cows on this cut block.

We found our cows on this cut block.See the little brown dots, those are our cows!

IMG_2515

View from our hike!

View from our hike!

IMG_2520
My week has just been getting better! Yesterday, I got to move cows on horse back for because the first time since November!!! The same cows that we lost on Tuesday on our hike dad went back to try and find them with the ATV. We couldn’t get our stock trailer up to where the cows were because the road was way to rough and narrow and a horse wouldn’t be that beneficial because of the steep and thick terrain. Dad ended up finding the cows and pushing them down the road with the ATV to a place where we could get to with horses. Dad called my husband and I and said he had found the cows, and was bringing them down off the mountain and if we could saddle up horses and meet him. Dad chased the cows for 24 km off this steep mountain to some flats ground. It worked out wonderfully because our baby girl was sleeping, so dad was the babysitter and I stole his horse and moved the cows the rest of the way. It was a great day!

Moving our runaway cows back onto our range! My cowgirl debut!!!

Moving our runaway cows back onto our range! My cowgirl debut!!!

One thought on “A Little Relief From Cabin Fever

  1. Congratulations on the birth of your baby She is adorable…I half expect to see a cowgirl hat on her soon.:)

Leave a Reply

