It’s Official…

It’s official SPRING IS FINALLY HERE! I am making this official statement because I finally shed my long johns today and no longer needed gloves while working outside, which seems crazy because this time last week there was 3 inches of snow on the ground! I spent this wonderfully beautiful day on my horse moving pairs (a cow and her baby calf). After the calves are born they spend at least three days in a field close to the barn, so we can still watch them because it is their first couple days of life that they are the most vulnerable. After those first couple of days we want to get them out of the smaller field into a bigger field to decrease the chance of disease spreading like scours. Scours is like our version of diarrhea, it effects the calf’s intestine and causes them to be unable to use the nutrients from their mom’s milk and they can also get dehydrated. My horse Mare and I were moving pairs from our smaller calving field into a bigger field where the older calves go with their mom’s!Image

2 thoughts on “It’s Official…

  1. Just stumbled across your blog. Glad to be a new follower. Thanks for sharing your life!
    Deanna @ rustedspur.com – Wild rags and more

Leave a comment